Melody Research, Analysis, and Recording Project

Summary

In this project I made melodies in the key of C that were 8 measures long, I also broke down the melodies. I learned about music theory and the history of music.

My First HookTheory Melody

My First Melody On HookPad

I was told to throw a bunch of notes on 8 measures.

Notes from Howard Goodall’s Melody Video

How Music Works with Howard Goodall – Melody

CueNotes
Semitone
Modes
Notes
Scales
Music Theory
Pitch
Pentatonic
Major
Minor
Diatonic
Coldplay
Melody
Dorian



Everything is made up of the same 5 notes and It’s called pentatonic
How high or low a note is, is called pitch
Modes
The minor scale is a mix of modes
You can start on whatever semi note in a minor scale because it can cope

Major and minor scales are compatible

Summary: In this video, I learned about major and minor scales, modes, notes, scales, pitch, diatonic music, tones, and semitones.

Melody Composition Terms and Definitions

  • Theme: A long, flowing melodic idea.
  • Motive: A short, rhythmic idea (Beethoven’s 5th).
  • Period: 8-12 measures or a musical sentence.
  • Phrase: Usually 4 measures.
  • Antecedent (Question) Phrase: First 4 measures of a period.
  • Consequent (Answer) Phrase: Second 4 measures of a period.
  • Scale Degrees (C Major Scale)
    • Tonic: C (1 , 8) – Stability and resolve.
    • Supertonic, Mediant, Submediant: D, E, A (2 , 3 , 6) – Moderate tension, useful for transitions and carrying on an idea.
    • Subdominant, Dominant, Leading Tone: F, G, B (4 , 5 , 7) – Causes the most tension, leads to the tonic.
  • Steps: Any movement using half or whole steps.
  • Leaps: Any movement using intervals larger than a whole step.
  • Conjunct motion: Melody is built primarily out of steps.
  • Disjunct motion: Melody is built primarily out of leaps.
  • Repetition: Repeated material (i.e. motive) used to create a link between two phrases of the period.
  • Contrast: Two phrases that contain contrasting material to create tension and interest.
  • Variation: Halfway between contrast and repetition. The two phrases include some recognizable material and some varied material (i.e. taking ideas up an octave).

One of My Favorite Melodies

This melody is in B-flat, the tonic note is B flat, the dominant note is F and the leading note is an A. I noticed that the melody repeats its self.

My Second HookTheory Melody

I made a slow melody with rising and descending notes. It is in the key of C. The tonic notes are C. I used G to build tension and it is dominant. I made use of mediant and submediant notes on bars 4 and 5, I used an E on bar 4 as a mediant and I used an A on bar 5 as a submediant. I made use of variation in all measures. I used retrograde in measures 6, 7, and 8.

What I Learned & Problems I Solved

  • I learned about music theory examples being tonics, tension notes, melody…etc
  • I learned how to use HookPad
  • I learned about the history of music
  • One problem I overcame was trying to understand the music theory it was very frustrating.

Resources

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *